These days people are using ChatGPT openly for everything from work planning to personal conversations. In such a scenario if someone has to give their phone or laptop to others, there remains a fear of lod chat history being leaked. Keeping in mind this privacy and security of users. OpenAI has launched a new Locked Chats feature in ChatGPT. With help of this feature, you can secure specific, private conversations using a PIN, fingerprint, or Face ID.
How the Locked Chats Feature Will Work
Under the 'Locked Chats' feature, users can lock their conversations with a four-digit PIN. Depending on the device, options for Face ID, Touch ID, or fingerprint lock will also be available. As soon as you lock any chat, it will disappear from normal chat history, pinned conversations and search results. It will go directly into a separate Locked Chats folder.
You Will Also Be Able to Start New Chats
It is worth noting that you can not only lock old conversations but you can also start a new secret chats directly by going inside the 'Locked Chats' section. Locking a chat does not delete it; it can be viewwd again any time using the correct PIN or biometric authentication.
Which Users Will Get This Facility
This new feature is being gradually rolled out to all users using ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Edu plans. You will be able to use it on the web, Mac and Windows desktop apps along with Android and iOS. However, Temporary Chats, archived chats, group chats, chats with shared links, scheduled tasks, and meeting recordings cannot be locked. Apart from this, this feature will also not be available in the ChatGPT for Healthcare plan.
Difference Between Temporary and Locked Chats
In Temporary Chats, conversations are not saved at all and disappear from history as soon as the chat is closed. On the other hand, in Locked Chats, your conversations remains completely saved and by entering the password you can read it again or continue in anytime.
Keep These Things in Mind Before Using
According to OpenAI, this feature provides privacy at your device level. It does not implement end-to-end encryption, nor does it change the data deletion timeline. Additionally, if a user forgets their PIN and reset it, all locked chats, files, and memories secured by that PIN will be permanently deleted. It will not be possible to recover them later.
OpenAI Rolls Out Locked Chats Feature In ChatGPT; It Keeps Your Conversation Private
TheFearless
21 Oct 2026 · 3:35 PM IST

Related Stories



